Brentwood Borough Council POLITICAL BALANCE – 18 NOVEMBER 2015

The Political Balance of the Council is:

POLITICAL GROUP	NO. OF MEMBERS		%
CONSERVATIVE	24	=	64.864
LIBERAL DEMOCRATS	10	=	27.027
LABOUR	2	=	5.405
NON- ALIGNED	1	=	2.702
TOTALS	37		100

POLITICAL GROUP	NO. OF MEMBERS	NO. OF SEATS ON ORDINARY COMMITTEES
CONSERVATIVE	24	49 (48.648)
LIBERAL DEMOCRATS	10	20 (20.270)
LABOUR	2	4 (4.054)
NON- ALIGNED	1	2 (2.027)
		75

PROPOSAL:

	A,S&TC	C & HC**	DAC***	EDC****	E&HMC	P & LC++	P,F&R#	SAC~	TOTAL
	(9)	(9)	(9)	(9)	(9)	(12)	(9)	(9)	75
			i						
CON	6	6	5	6	6	8	6	6	49
LIB DEM	2	2	3	3	3	3	2	2	20
LAB	1	0	0	0	0	1	1	1	4
NON- AL.	0	1	1	0	0	0	0	0	2
	9	9	9	9	9	12	9	9	75

^{*}AS&TC denotes Audit, Scrutiny and Transformation Committee

^{**}C & HC denotes Community & Health Committee
*** DAC denotes Dismissal Appeals Committee (Only meets on demand)

^{****}EDC denotes Economic Development Committee

⁺ E & HMC denotes Environment & Housing Management Committee

⁺⁺ P & LC denotes Planning and Licensing Committee

[#] P, F&R denotes Policy, Finance & Resources Committee

[~] SAC denotes Staff Appointments Committee (Only meets on demand)

Section 15 (5) principles

Section 15 (5) of the Local Government and Housing Act 1989 states:-

'The principles mentioned in subsection (4) above, in relation to the seats on any body which fall to be filled by appointments made by any relevant authority or committee of a relevant authority, are –

- (a) that not all the seats on the body are allocated to the same political group;
- (b) that the majority of the seats on the body is allocated to a particular political group if the number of persons belonging to that group is a majority of the authority's membership;
- (c) subject to paragraphs (a) and (b) above, that the number of seats on the ordinary committees of a relevant authority which are allocated to each political group bears the same proportion to the total of all seats on the ordinary committees of that authority as is borne by the number of members of that group to the membership of the authority; and
- (d) subject to paragraphs (a) to (c) above, that the number of the seats on the body which are allocated to each political group bears the same proportion to the number of all the seats on that body as is borne by the number of members of that group to the membership of the authority.'

Ordinary Committees do not include sub-committees or advisory committees or advisory sub-committees.

NOMINATIONS TO SEAT ALLOCATIONS & APPOINTMENTS

(Council must give effect to the wishes of the political groups as regards the nominations for the seats allocated to those political groups).

Audit, Scrutiny & Transformation Committee (9)	Conservative (6)	Liberal Democrat (2)	Labour (1)	Non-Aligned (0)
Chair*:	Cllr Paul Faragher*	Cllr Graeme Clark	Cllr Gareth Barrett	
Vice-Chair**:	Cllr Sheila Murphy**	Cllr Philip Mynott		
	Cllr Noelle Hones			
	Cllr Jan Pound			
	Cllr Mellissa Slade			
	Cllr Will Trump			
Approved Substitute:	Cllr Roger McCheyne	Cllr Karen Chilvers	Cllr Julie Morrissey	
Approved Substitute:	Cllr Mark Reed	Cllr Jo Squirrel		
Approved Substitute:	Cllr Tony Sleep			
Approved Substitute:	Cllr Andy Wiles			
Community & Health Committee (9)	Conservative (6)	Liberal Democrat (2)	Labour (0)	Non-Aligned (1)
Chair*:	Cllr William Russell*	Cllr Karen Chilvers		Cllr Roger Keeble
Vice-Chair**	Cllr Olivia Sanders**	Cllr Jill Hubbard		
	Cllr Ann Coe			
	Cllr Cliff Poppy			
	Cllr Jan Pound			
	Cllr Andy Wiles			

Approved Substitute:	Cllr Chris Hossack	Cllr Ross Carter	Cllr Vicky Davies
Approved Substitute:	Cllr Sheila Murphy	Cllr John Newberry	
Approved Substitute:	Cllr Louise Rowlands		
Approved Substitute:	Cllr Will Trump		

Dismissal Appeals Committee (9)	Conservative (5)	Liberal Democrat (3)	Labour (0)	Non-Aligned (1)
Chair:	Cllr Louise McKinlay	TBC		Cllr Roger Keeble
Vice-Chair:	Cllr Roger Hirst	Cllr Karen Chilvers		
	Cllr John Kerslake	Cllr Jo Squirrell		
	Cllr Roger McCheyne			
	Cllr Keith Parker			
Approved Substitute:	Cllr Paul Faragher	Cllr Barry Aspinell		Cllr Vicky Davies
Approved Substitute:	Cllr Chris Hossack	Cllr Graeme Clark		
Approved Substitute:	Cllr Will Russell			
Approved Substitute:	Cllr Tony Sleep			

Economic Development Committee (9)	Conservative (6)	Liberal Democrat (3)	Labour (0)	Non-Aligned (0)
Chair*:	Cllr Keith Parker*	Cllr David Kendall		
Vice-Chair**:	Cllr Louise Rowlands**	Cllr Philip Mynott		
	Cllr Jon Cloke	Cllr John Newberry		
	Cllr Olivia Sanders			

	Cllr Mellissa Slade		
	Cllr David Tee		
Approved Substitute:	Clir Paul Barrell	Cllr Graeme Clark	
Approved Substitute:	Cllr Paul Faragher	Cllr Jo Squirrel	
Approved Substitute:	Cllr Sheila Murphy		
Approved Substitute:	Cllr Andy Wiles		

Environment & Housing Management Committee (9)	Conservative (6)	Liberal Democrat (3)	Labour (0)	Non-Aligned (0)
Chair*:	Cllr Chris Hossack*	Cllr Vicky Davies		
Vice-Chair**:	Cllr Clifford Poppy**	Cllr Jill Hubbard		
	Cllr Ann Coe	Cllr Jo Squirrel		
	Cllr Madeline Henwood			
	Cllr Louise Rowlands			
	Cllr Tony Sleep			
Approved Substitute:	Cllr Paul Barrell	Cllr Ross Carter		
Approved Substitute:	Cllr Jon Cloke	Cllr John Newberry		
Approved Substitute:	Cllr Olivia Sanders			
Approved Substitute:	Cllr Mellissa Slade			
Planning & Licensing Committee (12)	Conservative (8)	Liberal Democrat (3)	Labour (1)	Non-Aligned (0)

Planning & Licensing Committee	Conservative (8)	Liberal Democrat (3)	Labour (1)	Non-Aligned (0)
(12)				

Vice-Chair**: C			Cllr Julie Morrissey	
vice-oriali .	Cllr William Trump**	Cllr Philip Mynott		
C	Cllr Paul Barrell	Cllr John Newberry		
C	Cllr Jon Cloke			
C	Cllr Sheila Murphy			
C	Cllr Jan Pound			
C	Cllr Mark Reed			
C	Cllr David Tee			
Approved Substitute: C	Cllr Ann Coe	Cllr Karen Chilvers	Cllr Gareth Barrett	
Approved Substitute: C	Cllr Cliff Poppy	Cllr Jill Hubbard		
Approved Substitute: C	Cllr Louise Rowlands			
Approved Substitute: C	Cllr Andy Wiles			

Policy, Finance & Resources Committee (9)	Conservative (6)	Liberal Democrat (2)	Labour (1)	Non-Aligned (0)
Chair*:	Cllr Louise McKinlay*	Cllr Barry Aspinell	Cllr Gareth Barrett	
Vice-Chair**:	Cllr John Kerslake**	Cllr Graeme Clark		
	Cllr Roger Hirst			
	Cllr Chris Hossack			
	Cllr Keith Parker			
	Cllr Will Russell			
Approved Substitute:	Cllr Roger McCheyne	Cllr David Kendall	Cllr Julie Morrissey	
Approved Substitute:	Cllr Cliff Poppy	Cllr Philip Mynott		

Approved Substitute:	Cllr Tony Sleep			
Approved Substitute:	Cllr Will Trump			
Staff Appointments Committee (9)	Conservative (6)	Liberal Democrat (2)	Labour (1)	Non-Aligned (0)
Chair*:	Cllr Louise McKinlay*	Cllr Barry Aspinell	Cllr Julie Morrissey	
Vice-Chair**:	Cllr Roger Hirst	Cllr Philip Mynott		
	Cllr John Kerslake			
	Cllr Roger McCheyne			
	Cllr Keith Parker			
	Cllr Paul Faragher			
Approved Substitute:	Cllr Chris Hossack	Cllr Graeme Clark	Cllr Gareth Barrett	
Approved Substitute:	Cllr Louise Rowlands	Cllr David Kendall		
Approved Substitute:	Cllr Will Russell			
Approved Substitute:	Cllr Tony Sleep			